Skip to main content

Prime Ministers of India

Prime Ministers of India

August 15th 1947 - May 27th 1964Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
May 27th 1964 - 9th June 1964Gulzari Lal Nanda(Acting)
June 9th 1964 - Jan 11th 1966Lal Bahadur Shastri
Jan 11th 1966 - Jan 24th 1966Gulzari Lal Nanda (Acting)
Jan 24th 1966 - Mar 24th 1977Indira Gandhi
March 24th 1977 - July 28th 1979Moraji Desai
July 28t 1979 - Jan 14th 1980Charan Singh
Jan 14th 1980 - Oct 31st 1984Indira Gandhi
Oct 31st 1984 - Dec 1st 1989Rajiv Gandhi
Dec 2nd 1989 - Nov 10th 1990V.P.Singh
Nov 11th 1990 - June 21st 1991Chandra Shekar
June 21st 1991 - May 16th 1996P.V.Narasimha Rao
May 16th 1996 - June 1st 1996Atal Behari Vajpayee
June 1st 1996 - Apr 21st 1997H.D.Devegowda
Apr 21st 1997 - Mar 18th 1998I.K.Gujral
March 19th 1998 - Oct 12th 1999Atal Behari Vajpayee
Oct 13th 1999 - May 21st 2004Atal Behari Vajpayee
May 22nd 2004 - May 26th 2014Dr.Manmohan Singh
May, 26th 2014 (Incumbent)Narendra Modi


  1. what is the Acting mean , word is use in Prime ministers of india

  2. He was the acting Prime Minister of India twice, after the death of Jawaharlal Nehru in 1964 and again in 1966 after Lal Bahadur Shastri`s death. On both occasions he acted for less than a month as his term ended upon the election of a new leader of the Indian National Congress.

  3. Replies
    1. Thank you for highlighting Mantu, it's now updated.


Post a Comment