Skip to main content

Important articles of Indian constitution, President, Vice-president, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

Article 52 States that there shall be a president of India

Article 53 Executive power of the Union shall be vested in the President

Article 56 Term of the office of the President

Article 58 Qualifications of President

Article 59 Conditions of the President's Offices

Article 61 President can be removed from office by impeachment

Article 63 States that there shall be a Vice-President

Article 64 Vice-president shall be the Ex-officio Chairman of the Council of States

Article 65 Duties of Vice president

Article 66 Election of Vice President by an electrol college which consists of all the members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

Article 67 Terms of the Office of Vice President

Article 71 Disputes relating to Presidential election shall be decided by Supreme Court

Article 75(3) The council of ministers is collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha and individually responsible to the President

Article 75(5) There is no legal bar that a minister must be a member of parliament(6 months)

Article 79 The Parliament of India consist of the President and the two Houses

Article 80 The Rajya Sabha,"The Council of States" consists of not more than 250 members(12 members , 238 elected)

Article 81 & 331 Provide the composition of Lok Sabha(maximum-552)

Article 85 President summons the Houses of Parliament and prorogues either House and dissolve the Lok Sabha

Article 89(1) Vice-president of India is the ex-officio chairman of Rajya Sabha, he presides over the proceedings of Rajya Sabha

Article 89(2) The deputy Sabha from amongst its Members

Article 90 The deputy Chairman may be removed from his office by a resolution of the council of States passed by a majority of all the then members(14 days notice)