Skip to main content

Facts of Indian railways, List of Indian railway zones and Manfacturing units of Indian railways

Facts of Indian railways

Indian Railways - Lifeline of the Nation

Founded - 16th April 1853

Headquarters and Owner - New Delhi, Government of India

Board - Ministry of Railways through Railway Board

Services - Passenger railways, Freight services, Parcel carrier, Catering and Toursim Services, Parking lot operations

Zones - 17 zones

Website -

List of Indian railway zones

Central railway

East Central railway

East Coast railway

Eastern railway

Metro railway Kolkata

North Central railway

North Eastern railway

North Western railway

North East Frontier railway

Northern railway

South Central railway

South East Central railway

South Eastern railway

South Western railway

Southern railway

West Central railway

Western railway

Manufacturing units of Indian railways

CLW Chitranjan

CORE Allahabad

DLW Varanasi

DMW Patiala

ICF Chennai

MRVC Mumbai

RCF Kapurthala

RWF Bangalore

RCF Raebareli