Social reform movements in India(Pre Independence)

Social reform movements in India(Pre Independence)

Veda Samaj(Brahma samaj of South) Sridharalu Naidu

Self Respect movement of India Dr.Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar

Drain of Wealth Theory R.C Dutta & Dadabhai Naroji 1757

Brahmo Samaj Raja RamMohan Roy 1828

Young Bengal Movement Henry Louis Vivian Dorenzo 1828-30

Dharma Sabha Radhakant Deb 1830

Radhaswami movement Tulsi Ram 1861

Aligarh Movement Sir Syed Ahmed Khan 1864

Deobandi Movement Rashid Ahmed Gangohi and Muhammed Qasim nanautavi 1866

Lokhitwadi Gopal Hari Desmukh 1867

Sathyashodak Samaj Jyotiba Phule 1873

Arya Samaj Swamy Dayanand 1875

Theosophical Society Helena Blavatsky, Henry Steel Olcott, William Quan Judge 1875

Indian Social Conference M.G Ranade & raghunath Rao first session in 1887

Deva Samaj Siva Narain Agnihotri 1887

Ahmedia movement Mirza gulam ahmed 1889

Ramakrishna Mission Swami Vivekananda 1897

Seva Samiti Hridayanath Kunzru 1914

Servants of India Society Gopal Krishna Gokhale 1915

Justice Party Movement Dr.T.M.Nair,Sir Pitti Thyagaraja Chettiar,Raja of panagal 1916

Self Respect movement of Tamil Nadu E.N.ramaswamy Naicker 1925

19th August 2013 currentaffairsquiz

Early trade, rupee hits 62.40 to the dollar

London is India's costliest consulate with an annual expenditure of over Rs 58 crore while the cheapest consulate is in Indonesia's Bali where expenses run into little over Rs 20 lakh, as per RTI update

STPI Mohali, Punjab has crossed Rs.2,000 crore of software export in 2012-13

Satyawant Kadian won bronze at World Junior Wrestling Championship in Bulgaria

Anil Agarwal is appointed as chairman of Sesa Sterlite

Lokpal may come up for discussion in ongoing Monsoon session

World’s largest spirits maker Diageo Plc has proposed an annual pay package of up to 10.9 million British pound (about Rs 105 crore) for its newly appointed CEO Ivan Menezes

Dr.APJ Abdul Kalam's book, My Journey: Transforming Dreams into Actions

Usain Bolt equals Carl Lewis record of 8 Golds at World Championship

Satyawant Kadian won bronze at World Junior Wrestling Championship in Bulgaria