Power Personas of the Year 2013

Power Personas of the Year 2013

Hydro Power - Dr.R.K.Gupta, Chairman & Managing Director, WAPCOS Ltd.

Conventional Energy–Thermal Power - Anil Sardana, CEO & Managing Director, Tata Power Co. Ltd.

Power Distribution - H.S.Patel, IAS, Managing Director, Dakshin Gujarat Vij Co. Ltd. (DGVCL)

De-Centralised and Distributed Power - Premangshu Sanyal, Managing Director, Bergen Engines India Pvt. Ltd. – Rolls Royce Reciprocating Power Systems

Innovative Leadership In An Emerging Enterprise, Power & Energy - B.L.Agrawal, Chairman, HIRA Group – Godawari Power & Ispat Ltd. and Godawari Green Energy Ltd.

Award for Best Performing Bureaucrats in Power sector and Best Officer in Power Sector Affecting Transformation State Government - S. K. Shukla, CEO, Chhattisgarh State Renewable Energy Development Agency (CREDA)

Best Oil & Gas Sector Organization/Company of the year - Oil India Ltd.

Best FUELS & RESOURCES company of the year - Northern Coalfields Ltd. (NCL)

Best Power Sector Financing Company - Power Finance Corporation Ltd. (PFC) { The company achieved a loan disbursement of Rs. 46,368 crores in year 2012-13 and had a low NPA of 0.63% }

Most Valuable Indian Power Sector Enterprise making Global Impact - WAPCOS Ltd.

Award for World Class National Institution in the Power Sector - Central Power Research Institute (CPRI) won for the 2nd time consecutively {CPRI is a World Leader in Ultra High Voltage Testing (UHVT) and is at the forefront of evolving an India Smart Grid Standards (ISGS)}

Best Power Exchange in India - Indian Energy Exchange Ltd. (IEX) won for the 2nd consecutive year { IEX controls 97% of India’s Day-ahead Market Volume for Electricity and has 83% market share in Renewable Energy Certificates (REC) trading }

Best Power Trading Company in India ( with 40% market share in India’s Power Trading including 100% of Indo-Bhutan Electricity Trade affected by PTC India) - PTC India Ltd.

Best Energy Logistics Company of the Year (The Company works in a challenging area of Energy & Power Logistics, where India is handicapped and constrained due to poor and inadequate Road Infrastructure) - J.H.Parabia Transport Pvt. Ltd.

Special Commendation Award for Yeomen Contribution to India’s Hydro Power Construction and Build-Up - Patel Engineering Ltd. (PEL)

Special Award for SAARC Energy Co-operation with India 2013 - Ministry Of Economic Affairs, Govt. Of Bhutan, Hydro Power Holding and Nodal Companies Druk Holding & Investments (DHI), Druk Green Power Corporation – (DGPC), Development Authorities, (THPA, PHPA etc.) & including Bhutan Power Corporation – BPC

7th ENERTIA Awards 2013 India’s Award for Sustainable Energy, Power and Infrastructure

7th ENERTIA Awards 2013 – India’s Award for Sustainable Energy, Power and Infrastructure

India’s Top Investment & Infra Excellent State for Energy & Power - Gujarat State won the award for the 6th consecutive time

India’s Best Utility-State Sector - Dakshin Gujarat Vij Co. Ltd. (DGVCL), South Gujarat region, won the award for the 3rd consecutive time

Power Generation for Hydro Power Sector -  Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd. (SSNNL) won the Award for 3rd time. The project is the only one of its kind in India and Asia with Power Generation from a River-bed large storage dam powerhouse, augmented with the Canal-head Power and a Pilot 1-MW Canal-Top Mini-Solar Power Plant, that while generating power also conserves water by preventing evaporative loss.

Utilities and T&D Award for Best Performing Utility-Urban {Joint award} - The Brihanmumbai Electric Supply & Transport (BEST Undertaking) and Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation Limited (CESC LTD.)

Joint award for being Best National Nodal Agency for Renewable Energy - Chhattisgarh State Renewable Energy Development Agency (CREDA) and Rajasthan Renewable Energy Corporation Ltd. (RREC)

Life-time Achievement Award - Yogendra Prasad, Former Chairman and MD, NHPC Ltd. and former VP, IHA (International Hydropower Association) and Former President (Indian National Hydropower Association)

Power Generation, Thermal Power Sector - NTPC Ltd. Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station won the award as the plant recorded the highest PLF of  92.43% in 2012-13, while generating the highest of 8.09 MUs/MW

Power Generation, Nuclear - Nuclear Power Corporation Of India Ltd. (NPCIL) – Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant, India’s first 1000 MW Nuclear Reactor of VVER  or Water-Water Power Reactor type PLWR (Pressurized Light Water Reactor)

Power Generation Awards, Renewable Energy (Solar, Wind etc.) - 50MW capacity Godawari Green Energy Ltd. (GGEL) concentrated Solar Thermal (CSP) in Naukh Village, Jaisalmer Dist. Rajasthan received the award for the first of the kind project in India

BGR-ENERTIA Award for Technology & Enterprise Innovation, Conventional Energy (Thermal, Nuclear etc.) - Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd.

BGR-ENERTIA Award for Technology & Enterprise Innovation, Renewable Energy (Solar, Wind etc.) - Gamesa Wind Turbines Pvt. Ltd.

Award for Corporate HR Excellence In Power Sector - Power Grid Corporation Of India Ltd. (PGCIL) for being India’s best place to work for Power Professionals and Power Engineers

Personality Quiz: Yogendra Prasad, former chairman NHPC Ltd.

Yogendra Prasad is credited for the capacity build-up of 22,000MW of Hydropower projects spread across the North and the North-Eastern regions of India, Leading to the evolution of the ‘50,000MW Hydropower Initiative’ under the then PM of India Atal Behari Vajpayee. Yogendra Prasad was instrumental in formation of NHDC a JV between NHPC, Government of India and Government of Madhya Pradesh, that resulted in greater Hydropower forays across Central India like the Indira Sagar and Omkareshwar HEPs.

Yogendra Prasad: 
Former Chairman and MD, NHPC Ltd.
Former VP, IHA (International Hydropower Association) and Former President (Indian National Hydropower Association)